All orders will be shipped the week of May 13th

We're on holiday!

Your cart

Your cart is empty

As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbour, transfixed by what looks like an occult ritual intended to banish an ex-boyfriend. Alone in a new town and desperate to expel the claustrophobic memories of her own ex that have followed, the narrator decides to try to hex herself free from her past.

She falls in with the neighbour and her witchy friend, exploring nascent supernatural powers as the boundaries of reality shift in and out of focus. But when the creaks and hums of her apartment escalate into something more violent, she realizes that she may have brought her boyfriend's presence - whether psychological or paranormal - back to haunt her.

Propulsive and wry, this razor-sharp debut explores all the ways that relationships and trauma can haunt our lives. Twisting witchcraft and horror into a powerful narrative of one woman's struggle to return to herself, this lyrical novel is perfect for fans of Boy Parts and My Year of Rest and Relaxation.

Disturbance by Jenna Clake

SKU: 9781398712089
Regular price $37.99
Unit price
per 
(0)

Discover original voices, explore new ideas, imagine different worlds.

Aotearoa New Zealand-wide shipping.

Recyclable packaging only.

Need help? Contact us.

As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbour, transfixed by what looks like an occult ritual intended to banish an ex-boyfriend. Alone in a new town and desperate to expel the claustrophobic memories of her own ex that have followed, the narrator decides to try to hex herself free from her past.

She falls in with the neighbour and her witchy friend, exploring nascent supernatural powers as the boundaries of reality shift in and out of focus. But when the creaks and hums of her apartment escalate into something more violent, she realizes that she may have brought her boyfriend's presence - whether psychological or paranormal - back to haunt her.

Propulsive and wry, this razor-sharp debut explores all the ways that relationships and trauma can haunt our lives. Twisting witchcraft and horror into a powerful narrative of one woman's struggle to return to herself, this lyrical novel is perfect for fans of Boy Parts and My Year of Rest and Relaxation.

Reviews from real-life readers (caution: spoilers may lie this way!)

in front of a colourful mural, a set of legs wearing jeans with visible fishnets and bight yellow converse high-tops walks across a yellow bollard.

Discover original voices, explore new ideas, imagine different worlds.

With our curated collection of speculative literature featuring the diverse voices of outsiders, innovators, and creators of all kinds.

Hopeful curiosity

What we can imagine, we can create.

Creative expression

Curating beautiful things and joyful experiences.

Inclusive community

Building a place where all belong.